Baseball On My Brain


The first post of 2009
January 1, 2009, 2:11 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

My fault for not getting more posts up lately. Simple truth – baseball hasn’t really been on my brain that much. Even with my hometown Mariners making a 12-player, three-team trade, it didn’t really spark anything exciting within me.

There will be a few new posts on BaseballBookReview.com in the coming days and weeks – stay tuned for The Hardball Times 2009 review.

In the meantime, here are a few things that have caught my eye in the recent weeks.

In the current climate of multi-year contracts worth tens, if not hundreds of millions of dollars, meet Clay Zavada.

Apparently Manny thinks the Yankees are going to make him a three year offer — this article, about a conversation on the radio, made me chuckle about the discussions that I’m sure Yankee fans are having all over the place.

Time to revisit the 5% rule on Hall of Fame voting? Dan Rosenheck thinks so. while the Bats column makes mention of it as well.

And because I loved the book, the Freakonmoics blog asks what museums have that sporting events don’t? The comments are my favorite part of the piece.

This clip from the end of the Seahawks-Jets game crossed my path today – I’m ashamed of both sides…

Remember the hoo-ha about a Red Sox jersey being buried inside the new Yankee Stadium? My neighbors to the south found themselves in a similar situation.

That’s it for now – peace, joy and happiness to you and yours in the new year!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

