Baseball On My Brain


When will it be our time?
October 20, 2008, 11:17 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

As I sat in my living room celebrating the Rays’ ALCS victory last night, I couldn’t help but have a bit of a selfish thought about when it will finally be the Mariners’ turn to make it to the World Series.

Since 1977, the Mariners’ first year, there have been 6 new teams in MLB – the Rockies, Rays, Marlins, Diamondbacks, Blue Jays and Mariners. With last night’s developments, all but one have made it to the World Series, and all of those five with the exception of the Rockies have won it. Somehow the Mariners just can’t get it done – they’ve been to the ALCS three times, but could never get over the hump.

I’m going to post my disclaimer right now and say that the Mariners certainly aren’t first in line when it comes to longest World Series appearance drought – the Cubs, Rangers and Nationals/Expos are all ahead of my navy-and-teal clad local nine.

In fact – there’s a good post on Wikipedia which chronicles these droughts – my surrogate team, the San Francisco Giants have yet to win a World Series since moving west – 51 seasons without a big ring. Likewise for the Astros and Padres, who have had to wait 47 and 40 years respectively.

So while one team will end a drought this year – the Rays’ 10 years without an appearance or a win, or the Phillies, who took 15 years to get back to the Series and haven’t won it since 1980 – our drought continues.

I’m going to step out of character a bit and be selfish and say that I really want to experience being a fan of a team in the World Series. As much as I love baseball and am generally happy watching any decent game regardless of who’s playing, last night just made me want to have a game played in Seattle that was as significant as the one just played in St. Petersburg.

Even though I was at the 2007 World Series, I didn’t have a vested interest in the outcome of the game, although I was rooting for the Rockies to win and get their first crown, and – let’s be honest, so Red Sox nation wouldn’t have something else to inflate their already bloated ego with.

I had just as much concern with staying warm and finding a hot chocolate stand with a short line as I did with who won the game. Sure I had a great time and would do it again in a heartbeat, but I wasn’t going to dance in the streets with the Red Sox fans nor hang my head with the Rockies fans.

If anything, it made me want to get back home and get back to baseball.

I’d venture to say that this is the tough part of being a serious baseball fan – loving both the game while wanting to see your own team succeed.

So for everyone who’s a fan of a team mired in a postseason and/or World Series drought, know that I fully empathize with you. But not so much that I hope you get a World Series victory before I do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

