Baseball On My Brain


Well, it’s over.
September 30, 2008, 2:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

At least the Mariners part of the season is over. There’s still the Twins-White Sox playoff game later this afternoon, and of course the playoffs, but for my purposes, the season is over.

I’m not going to spend time analyzing their season – there are plenty of other people and sites doing that.

But I will share this – as a co-worker and I were discussing the season, he made the remark about how 100 losses just looks bad in the newspaper. It’s almost like having a third arm…almost every other team keeps their losses to two digits, but a certain few teams go back to the buffet for a few more and end up with a third digit in the loss column. their muffin top of inability hanging over their Standings brand jeans.

Conversely, with only the Angels surpassing the 100-win mark, they look that much more above the rest of the crowd in the win column. They did so well – they got an extra number!

For me, this has been one of the most fatiguing seasons I can remember. There’s a side of me that would go to sleep right now and not wake up for a good three or four days.

First, it was a disappointing season for the Mariners.

Second, it was a disappointing season for the team I play on – 2-14 and two losses in the playoffs.

Third, baseball season on the whole is winding down and close to ending, which is a bummer as far as I’m concerned. If you really need to know why, read A. Bartlett Giamiatti’s “Green Fields of the Mind.”

Fourth – I’m looking for a new job, because as of October 31, I’ll need a new job.

Fifth – and the one that I think is wreaking more havoc on me than I would like to admit, is that I am just flat out tired from going through this renewal process with the Mariners and Fisher Broadcasting.

It’s after what has been one of my best years in baseball that I feel my absolute worst. At a end-of-the-season dinner last night, a co-worker said that this is kind of like walking on the moon – what do you do next to top that?

Right now, I don’t know. That’s the problem.

And right now, baseball isn’t providing me any answers. It’s like it’s already stopped and left me to face this alone. Giamatti was right.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

