Baseball On My Brain


My Sunday Night Post
September 14, 2008, 10:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve always been amazed at band names…having worked around music radio for a while, I saw a lot of them, and most of them always left me wondering what were they smoking when they came up with this one?

Case in point – My Morning Jacket. You can read where the name came from here. They have that; I have my Sunday Night Post.

Congrats to Carlos Zambrano on his no-hitter — that’s a big accomplishment, and even though it set the surging Astros back a step, it’s still to cool to see, especially for those fans in Milwaukee who got to see an unexpected game.

The Mariners, well, they are the Mariners, aren’t they? A four-game sweep by the Angels seems almost doubly painful – a friendly reminder of how good they are, how bad we are, and how far there is to go before the M’s return to the top of the AL West. My Oh My.

So as I sit here eating frozen mint patties and a piece of cheesecake, accompanied by a nice glass of Sauternes, I wanted to touch on this article from the New York Times this morning about Leonard Shecter, someone who you probably don’t know but reap the benefits (?) of his work every time you open the sports page or your favorite sports publication.

You can read the article and form your own conclusion – my question is simply are we really that much better off knowing what goes on in athlete’s lives (and celebrities’ lives, for that matter) than we would be if we didn’t?

I’ll be the first to say no…but I understand how easy it is to believe that we are. I think we all want to know that celebs and athletes are really just like us, even though in so many ways they’re not. Let’s face it – there’s a reason they earn what they do, because there’s not that many who can do what they do and the rest of us have an interest in seeing them do what they do. We live in a consumption culture, and even though the game is over, we are inclined to think there is more coming about those folks, which of course has to be filled with details of what happens off the field.

Interesting how we’re marking the 50th anniversary of this development — is it time to rethink how we consume media and information like this? Does it really benefit us, or are we lapping it up because we are told that we need to know?

Sometimes, just because the news is out there, doesn’t mean we need to know about it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

