Baseball On My Brain


Sometimes a game just stinks
September 10, 2008, 1:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

I’ve been to a lot of ballgames…and most times I’m pretty happy at them, whether it’s high school, college, minors, majors, or an exhibition at any of those levels. You could say that baseball and I get along pretty well.

I was trying to think how many games I’ve seen in my life; or even in my professional career, when I really started caring about the game beyond just who won and lost. The number 1,000 came to mind, and while I was tempted to go with it, that would mean I’d have to average 100 games a year for the past 10 years, which I know I’m not at. So let’s say 500…that seems like a much more agreeable number.

Last night’s contest between the Rangers and Mariners may have been the worst game I’ve ever seen; if not the worst, certainly one of them and the worst in recent memory.

It lacked any semblance of rhythm or pace; it had no direction (other than down) and it truly lived up to its billing as a meaningless game between two teams who will be doing something other than playing competitive baseball in October.

It was like listening to a bad improvisational jazz band – just hard on the senses.

Last night was the kind of game that I hope no first-timers were at, because they probably wouldn’t come back. It was the kind of game that would make the wishy-washy baseball fan probably not come back either. Heck, it almost made me not want to stay…I’d come back though.

It was the kind of game that makes football, basketball and hockey fans say that baseball is boring. Using last night’s game as an example, they’re right. I don’t know if I’d trade a football game for last night’s game, but a good one might stand a chance of garnering some of my attention.

It was just a good ol’ fashioned bad game.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

