Baseball On My Brain


From instant replay to September call-ups
September 3, 2008, 2:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I’m leaving the instant replay topic alone for a while – at least until I see it actually called into use, hopefully at a Mariners home game.  Then you can expect a barrage of commentary, unless the process somehow goes so smoothly that even I don’t have an issue with it.

Larry LaRue of the Tacoma News Tribune wrote this article about how Mariners manager Jim Riggleman isn’t terribly crazy about the tradition of September call-ups.

As I found to be the case with many things I write about – I realized that I’d never given much thought to the whole September call-up process; it just seemed something that was part of the game.

If anything – I thought it was a good thing, because it gaves teams – especially those in contention – some backup and relief so they could give their starters as much rest as possible to gear up for the postseason.

Riggleman has a point though – it does make for some interesting(?) situations and changes a team’s ability to create favorable hitter-pitcher matchups.

But then as I thought about it more, I realized that here’s the manager of a last-place team, who will most likely be out of a job next year, and I disagree with him. Is that a bad thing? Sometimes just because someone has a certain job doesn’t make them right all the time. I’m sure you can think of many examples to illustrate my point in your own life.

So I’ve resolved for now that I’m a bit undecided on the whole matter — I think there’s some truth to both sides of the discussion. What do you think?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

