Baseball On My Brain


I’ll tell you why I go
August 21, 2008, 6:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Seattle PI reporter David Andriesen wondered why Mariners fans still go to ballgames, depsite the team’s horrible record.

I just sent the following response to the PI’s letters to the editor section:

David Andriesen wonders why fans still go to Mariners games (M’s fans still true despite season, August 21, 2008).

I go because baseball is still the best game around. Every game, anything can happen – someone could throw a no-hitter, or hit four home runs in a game. Or it could go 20 innings, I could catch a foul ball or get an autograph from my favorite player.

I could see a kid hit his first homerun – and maybe that kid goes on to become a Hall of Famer. Or I could see a great player in his last season before he walks off the field for the final time.

Or I could just sit in the fresh air of the northwest and watch tremendous athletes carry on a tradition that has been part of our country – and now our world – all while enjoying the company of friends, family, and thousands of other like-minded folks.

I go because baseball is the game of endless possibility, and it reminds me that life is the same way: every day is a new day, every game is a new game, and something tremendous could happen in either one. And no matter what – both are only as fun as you make them.

I’ll let you know if it gets published. In the meantime, share your thoughts about why you go to games – especially if you go to a team that’s not doing so well.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

