Baseball On My Brain


A little reflection…
June 18, 2008, 3:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

What drives me nuts about baseball is the fine line that it sits on between the right-brained stories, legends and tales, and the left-brained stats, numbers, and analysis. At times they are both on your side, at times neither is on your side. And seemingly more often than not, the part that you’d like on your side isn’t there.

Which is what struck me today as kind of where I’m at in life. I want the freedom to come and go as I please, but I need the structure of deadlines, appointments and such.

I want the demand of having to look nice – I won’t go so far as to say I want to wear a uniform – but I also want the ability to have it be a bit flexible to my standards. Think high pants vs. low pants, baggies vs. fitted, long sleeves vs. short, etc. Players all have to wear a uniform that falls within certain guidelines but does allow for a good amount of wiggle room to allow for one’s own preferences.

I like living in the mindset that there doesn’t have to be a time clock – that something can be as long or as short as it needs to be. Yet I also like the idea that what goes on is measured – rigidly – and records are kept and shared.

Right now I’m in a bit too much of a left brain world, where schedules are a bit too rigid for my liking. That’s compounded by the fact that a lot of my co-workers are in the right brain world, thanks to some developments that have freed their schedules up considerably.

Some people say baseball is a metaphor for life; others say life is a metaphor for baseball. It’s funny how a short walk can help draw the parallels between the two, regardless of how you look at it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

