Baseball On My Brain


A change in perspective, Big Unit style
June 18, 2008, 7:55 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Let me start by saying that as I write this from the press box of Safeco Field, my hands and ears are absolutely freezing cold. It’s June 18 and I’m on the verge of putting on my woll jacket. I wish I had some of those little hand warmers and a thick beanie. It is flipping cold, and the Mariners are losing 5-1 to the Marlins in the middle of the 4th inning.

I just looked around and realized I’m one of the only folks in here not wearing a jacket. I have a feeling that will change before I finish this post. Just a little scene-set so you can understand where I’m at.

If you haven’t had a chance to read the 6/16/08 issue of ESPN The Magazine yet, I suggest you do. The reason why is Randy Johnson’s column on page 16, in which he talks about his recent change in game day attitude and approach to the game.

Being from Seattle where Johnson spent over eight seasons of his career, and being part of the media, I’ve heard the stories about how locked in and focused Johnson was on game days, even the day before. While he didn’t earn a reputation of being unfriendly to the media after starts (a la Erik Bedard, also featured in The Mag), he did have a way of bulldozing right past you on game days.

But as you’ll read, at age 44 he’s recentlyl had a change of approach. He’s living with a newfound love of the game which has made him appreciate all over again what he’s doing and the gifts he’s been blessed with.

As I reached a bit of a milestone birthday this year, and as some forks in the road of life are approaching quickly, it was a particularly engaging article. I’m not 100% sure why, but it’s always refreshing to hear the human experience of those who are able to perform superhuman feats.

BTW, now 7-2 Marlins, top of the 6th, and the jacket is going on as soon as I post this.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

