Baseball On My Brain


Catching up on some reading…

A couple of new posts are over on my other site, BaseballBookReview.com – a wonderful site that is worthy of a click. You’ll find reviews of two new books, Far From Home and The Code, both solid utility players in the lineup of baseball books.

In the meantime, I’ve taken this opportunity to clean my desk off – finally. I’ve got weeks of junk magazines, books, and other things to read, so I’m going to do it. Along the way, I’ll post up a few thoughts on the topics that catch my eye.

So Manny Ramirez thinks he’s the best left fielder in Red Sox history? According to an article in the April 29, 2008 Boston Herald, that’s the verdict in Mannyland. I don’t think this one merits much discussion.

In the May 21-27 USA Today Sports Weekly, Jorge Ortiz and colleagues put together a nice piece on different paths that managers have taken to get to the big legaues, and more importantly the idea that great players turn into great managers. I’ve never for once subscribed to that theory — not saying that there can’t be a good player who turns into a good manager, but being an All-Star certainly shouldn’t get you to the front of the managerial line. The consensus from the piece seems to be that while a successful playing career does bring some perceived credibility, ultimately it’s about the kind of rapport that a manager is able to develop with his players.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

