Baseball On My Brain


Post #38
April 2, 2008, 11:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

That’s what this was saved as when I started it a while back. I meant to put it out there before Opening Day, but I missed it. Oh well – enjoy it now.

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of working with a woman who is getting married and brings her planning to the office, you should relate to this story.

If you haven’t – you are a lucky person – and keep reading because you might relate to this as well.

I’ve become disgusted at what the wedding industry has become — a multi-billion dollar business focused on one day in a person’s life as opposed to the long-haul business of a marriage.

I got taken to see the movie “27 Dresses” while it was in theaters, and even though I didn’t like it, there was a good line in there about people who want weddings, not marriages. Seems there are people who want Opening Days and World Series, but not the regular season.

As someone who likes the long-term nature of a baseball season – Opening Day has become kind of trite. The fireworks, the pageantry, the casual fans bringing themselves to the game like people who show up at church just on Easter or Christmas – it all cheapens the event for me.

For the first time in several years I didn’t go to Spring Training this year – and while I thought I’d miss it, I really didn’t. I’ve become attached to other venues and leagues where the hype is a little less – and which I’m not broadcasting for fear they’ll get over run as well.

Games 2 and 3 of the season were very enjoyable despite cold weather – simply because it was folks who more or less wanted to be at a ballgame and there was no fireworks or excess hoopla.

I get that Opening Day is an event to be celebrated — don’t get me wrong. But maybe I’m an in the trenches kind of guy when you get down to my core. Maybe I enjoy the day-to-day more than the big events. All I know is that when the pageantry of Opening Day was over, I knew the season was really here.

Maybe I’ve OD’d on O.D.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well, I do not find the way you see things odd at all. I think you are a deep person who is not satisfied with glamour… but rather goes to the deep layer beyond. Good for you!

Enjoyed the post very much 🙂 Thank you!

Comment by Mermaid




Leave a Reply

